Download PDF
May 1, 2015

Group Of 37 Senators Call For EPA To Issue A Strong Final 2014 RFS


On April 23, 2015, a bi-partisan group of 37 Senators led by Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Dick Durbin (D-IL), John Thune (R-SD), Al Franken (D-MN), and Mark Kirk (R-IL) sent a letter to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Gina McCarthy urging a strong final 2014 Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS). The full list of 37 co-signors and text of the letter is available on Senator Grassley's website.

The Senators urge EPA to reconsider its proposed 2014 renewable volume obligations (RVO), and argue that the proposed reductions to the overall RVOs were made outside the scope of EPA's waiver authority under the RFS law. This messaging is consistent with that of the majority of the biofuels community. The letter was sent as EPA is preparing to issue its final 2014 RFS by June 1, 2015.