Download PDF
June 23, 2017

BIO Announces 2017 Rosalind Franklin Award Winner

Lauren M. Graham, Ph.D.

By Lauren M. Graham, Ph.D.

On June 14, 2017, the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) announced that biotech industry veteran Vonnie Estes would receive the 4th annual Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership in Industrial Biotechnology. Estes, an independent business consultant, will be presented the Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership in Industrial Biotechnology during a lunch plenary session at the BIO World Congress on July 25, 2017.  Each year, the award celebrates a pioneering woman in the industrial biotechnology sector who has made significant contributions to the advancement of the biobased economy and biotech innovation in honor of Rosalind Franklin.  Estes was selected as a result of her numerous contributions to the commercial development of new biotechnologies, creating revolutionary products that are good for people and the planet.  Throughout her career, Estes has held leadership positions at DuPont, GranBio, Caribou Biosciences, Monsanto, and Syngenta.  Estes’ role as an accomplished industry leader with decades of experience commercializing industrial biotechnology innovations and developing emerging companies was determined to honor Rosalind Franklin’s legacy.