Download PDF
May 24, 2019

EERE Announces Grants For SBIR Innovation Projects

Lynn L Bergeson

By Lynn L. Bergeson

On May 20, 2019, U.S. Energy Secretary, Rick Perry, announced that DOE’s EERE will be awarding up to $46 million in grants to small businesses funded through DOE’s Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs for Phase I research and development (R&D). DOE will award 231 grants to 202 small businesses in 39 states and the District of Columbia (DC). Phase I grants provide small businesses with the opportunity to research technical feasibility of innovative technologies that advance DOE’s EERE’s mission. Successful Phase I grantees will then be eligible to apply for Phase II awards in 2020. Phase II allows small businesses to develop prototypes/processes to validate their research for up to two years.  Nine EERE technology offices will fund 109 awards under 12 topics — one for each office (Advanced Manufacturing Office (AMO), Bioenergy Technologies Office, Building Technologies Office, Fuel Cell Technologies Office (FCTO), Geothermal Technologies Office (GTO), Solar Energy Technologies Office (SETO), Vehicle Technologies Office, Water Power Technologies Office and the Wind Energy Technologies Office), as well as three joint office topics (AMO with FCTO, AMO with GTO, and AMO with SETO).