Download PDF
February 3, 2017

Senate EPW Committee Republicans Set Aside Committee Rules, Approve Scott Pruitt for EPA

Lynn L. Bergeson

On February 2, 2017, the U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW) voted out Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt’s nomination for Administrator of the U.S. Environmental protection Agency (EPA).  As expected, EPW Committee Democrats boycotted the vote.  EPW Committee Chair Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) called a vote to set aside the Committee rules that require two Democrats to be present.  The vote passed, and the final vote to approve Scott Pruitt for a floor vote to become EPA Administrator passed 11-0.  Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) expressed his intention to call up confirmation votes on the floor as nominees are approved by Committee.  When this may occur is unclear.