Download PDF
February 12, 2016

Nominations Open For Annual George Washington Carver Award And Rosalind Franklin Award


On February 1, 2016, the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) announced that nominations for the ninth annual George Washington Carver Award were being accepted. The award recognizes an individual who has contributed to building the biobased economy by creating sustainable, environmentally friendly products through industrial biotechnology. Previous recipients of the award include Ellen Kullman, CEO and Chair of the Board at DuPont and Dr. Jay Keasling, Hubbard Howe Jr. Distinguished Professor of Biochemical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. Nominations for the George Washington Carver Award are due by midnight (EST) on February 19, 2016.

Nominations are also open for the Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership in Industrial Biology, honoring a woman who has made significant contributions to the biobased economy and biotech innovation through industrial biotechnology. The BIO Rosalind Franklin Award was created in 2014 with Dr. Debbie Yaver winning the award, and Dr. Jennifer Holmgren, CEO of LanzaTech receiving the award in 2015. Nominations for the Rosalind Franklin Award are due by midnight (EST) on February 19, 2016. Both awards will be presented at the 2016 World Congress on Industrial Biotechnology in San Diego, California, occurring April 17-20, 2016.